Skip to main content

Webster County High School

Go Trojans!

Drivers Permit & License Information

Learner Permit Information

The information below is from the KY State Police:

Permit Information: 

Drivers must be 16 years of age to take the written knowledge and vision tests and apply for a permit. Learn more about the process within the KY Driver Manual.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO BRING WHEN APPLYING FOR A PERMIT

  1. Original Birth Certificate (or certified copy)
  2. ​Social Security Card (must bring card as proof)
  3. One (1) Proof of Residency (2 for a REAL ID)
  4. School Compliance Verification Form issued by their school. (reference: No Pass/No Drive Law​). See Mrs. Julie Martin in the guidance office to request a verification form. 
  5. For persons under 18, a parent or guardian must sign the application, taking financial responsibility for the applicant. A legal guardian must have a certified copy of guardianship papers.

Helpful Links:

 

GRADUATED LICENSE COURSE

Kentucky has Graduated Licensing laws in place to improve traffic safety and reduce traffic accidents, injuries, and fatalities by controlling a young driver’s exposure and progressively moving the driver into more difficult driving experiences before full licensure. Drivers whose permits were issued under the age of 18 must complete a driver education program before moving to the full, unrestricted licensing phase. Before you are eligible to obtain a full, unrestricted license, you must complete a driver training program.

Acceptable methods of completing the course are as follows: 

The classroom version is free for KY drivers.

  • Alive at 25 is taught only by current and former law enforcement officers across Kentucky, who bring unique perspectives and experiences that give participants the best opportunities to learn and understand.  Knowing what it’s like to tell someone that their loved one has been killed or seriously injured in a car crash, or to express their sincere desire for young drivers to better understand and avoid the life-changing emotional, criminal, and civil consequences of poor decision-making, lends itself to the success of the course.  
  • Click to Find a Course

The online version costs $11.00.

 

 

CONTACT US:

Magon Robards, WCHS Registrar

Phone: 270-639-0133

Email: magon.robards@webster.kyschools.us

No Pass/​No Drive Statute

The No Pass/No Drive statute, KRS 159.051 involves every public and private school (including home schools) in Kentucky. Any fifteen (15), sixteen (16), or seventeen (17)-year-old student applying for a Learner's Instruction Permit for the first time must have a School Compliance Verification: KRS 159.051 Form, issued and completed by the school. This form verifies that the student is compliant with the components of the statute. If the student is not compliant, the school should not issue the form. Local court clerks require the form to bear an embossed seal (with raised characters) to accept it. 

The No Pass/No Drive statute results in the denial of the school compliance verification form or the revocation of a student's driver’s license for:

  • academic deficiency
  • dropping out of school
  • missing 9 or more unexcused absences in one semester

Academic deficiency is defined as a student who does not have passing grades in at least four (4) courses, or the equivalent, in the preceding semester, as outlined in KRS 159.051.

no pass/no drive

no pass/no drive spa